Hello Blogosphere

Hello World!  I have been toying with the idea of starting a blog for a while now and I realized that I just have too much fun cooking delicious meals and coming up with killer workout circuits that I couldn’t help but not share. So welcome! 🙂

My life is incredibly busy, which is just the way I like it, and because I still like to get a decent amount of sleep, you will find on my blog that many of my meals are FAST. Most definitely take under 30 minutes to cook ( prep time included), and are really easy. I tend to make more elaborate creations on weekends or on a rare evening where I am lucky enough to get off work before 7:30.  While my goal is to always have leftovers at dinner for lunch the next day, life gets in the way and this doesn’t always happen. So I definitely keep a few “fall back” recipes up my sleeve for tasty lunch ideas that are relatively simple and take 10 minutes or less to put together. Enter the recipe for my bombtastic tuna salad. My boyfriend Nate and I discovered the beauty of this lunch together while experimenting with many different ingredients but this combination stands as my favourite:

Bombtastic Tuna Salad

1 can Tangol or Albacore tuna (  make sure it is packed in spring water ) 

1/2 bell pepper, colour of your choice 

1/2 zucchini 

1/2 cucumber 

2-3 celery sticks

6-8 cherry tomatoes 

2 tsp capers 

1 -2 tbsp organic natural mayo – NOT with soybean oil 

1 tsp dijon mustard 

1 tsp olive oil 

Pinch of Sea Salt and ground pepper 

Cayenne Pepper, Paprika, Hot sauce- optional, depends on how spicy you like things 

Directions : drain tuna, and put in medium bowl. Dice the bell pepper, cucumber, and zucchini and add to the bowl. Cut the cherry tomatoes in half and add to bowl as well. Mix around a little. Then add mayo, olive oil, and dijon mustard and stir well to make sure it’s all well blended. Depending on your tuna can size, you may need more olive oil.  Finally, add about 3 shakes of paprika, 1-2 of cayenne pepper and a dash of hot sauce of your choice ( I like Trader Joe’s jalapeno pepper sauce). Add capers and salt & pepper last.

Put in tupperware and enjoy! I love to add 1/2 an avocado on top, but I do not put it in my tupper ware until the morning to avoid it getting soggy and brown.

Trick of the day : if you are storing half an avocado in the fridge, store in an air tight ziploc and keep the pit in over night. Your avocado is still green come morning and perfect addition to your tupperware tuna!

My other fun tip when making the tuna salad: cut the other half of the bell pepper into strips and the cucumber half into circles and enjoy them for mid-morning munching . I frequently will have some salami, or a handful of nuts an hour or 2 after lunch because the tuna salad isn’t a huge portion.

And of course this post isn’t complete without a workout. This is mostly arms and core and will have you dizzy by the end. Enjoy!

Workout: 

Warm up  : 10 minute run

10 pullups

10 dips  ( on dip machine)

10 shoulder taps with feet on bosu. Lift one leg ( 5 on each side)

10 Shoulder press with bar. For a challenge, do the shoulder press while standing on the bosu, flat side down and standing on mushy part.

Next set: do 9, then 8 reps of each exercise, then 7, then 6….. by 4 I was at failure.

This was tough! Even though you’re working similar body parts, your heart rate is still up. It’s hard for me to find a hr-raising arm workout because usually those workouts have plyometrics or legs involved so this hit the spot for me.

Let me know if you try this workout and what rep you get to! I took a 1 min break between rep 6 and 5 because my arms were shaking bad.

One thought on “Hello Blogosphere

Leave a Reply

