Brunch for one

I had a little too much fun this weekend. So much fun, that the only way I would survive when I woke up this morning was putting on as many clothes as possible and getting on the treadmill. After 20 minutes I had successfully sweated my hangover away. I know it sounds dreadful, but I always make sure to workout the morning after a night out. It is soooo worth it because otherwise I am unable to function.

Usually when I wake up hungover I  crave two things : greasy salty potatoes and eggs. Sticking with my cravings I “healthified” it a little and ending up making baked sweet potato eggs – pretty much the most delicious brunch I’ve ever made. And yes, it was just for me ( no shame here) , and I originally made enough to save as breakfast for the week but it was actually so delicious I went back for seconds  thirds.

Look at those runny yolks!

Look at those runny yolks! ( please disregard the hole in the middle right one. I got a little over-eager with my fork )

I originally got the recipe from Every Day Paleo  but, as usual, I tweaked it a little. The original recipe has bacon, but I decided to keep my bacon for lunch.

Ingredients : ( serves 3-4) 

1 muffin pan ( you can use ramekins too)

8 eggs

2 tablespoons coconut oil

2 small/medium sweet potatoes, grated ( I just chopped mine in the food processor)

1 garlic clove, finely minced

2 cups baby spinach leaves

1 cup arugula

1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

Sea salt and black pepper to taste

Directions : 

Preheat your oven to 350. Get out your muffin pan and grease lightly ( I use a light dusting of coconut oil spray).  Heat the coconut oil in a pan and add the grated sweet potato. Saute the potato for about 2-4 minutes.  Add the minced garlic and cook for another 2 min.  Add the spinach and  arugula and cook until it is wilted.  Add the paprika, cayenne, sea salt and pepper to the vegetables, mix well, and divide the mixture evenly into the bottoms of your muffin pan holes.   Carefully crack one egg on top of the veggie mixture into each hole.  Cook the eggs for about 17 minutes, or until the eggs whites are set but the egg is still a little bit “jiggly” and the yolks are not fully cooked. I like mine super runny, so I took them out of the oven when the whites were still a tad liquidy because they kept cooking even when out of the oven. Let them settle for 2-3 minutes( I couldn’t  wait, hence the fork holes).   Scoop the eggs carefully out of the muffin holes and serve.

I LOVE gooey yolks. And something about baked sweet potatoes makes them taste sweet but savory at the same time!

Most of mine stayed together and were really easy to store in tupperware for the week. Warning: these are so good it is hard to stop eating them!

Pardon the iphone pics.
I will be thinking about these babies sitting in my fridge during my morning run tomorrow!

But the best part is that these could be made a million ways. Next time I think I will add chopped zucchini along with the spinach for more veggies and add crumbled goat cheese on top. I bet you could even used well-wilted kale or chard as well. Sooo many options!

Let me know if you try these – they are the bomb.com.

How are you spending your Sunday?

2 thoughts on “Brunch for one

  1. Pingback: Countdown has begun… | Primal Bliss

Leave a Reply

