Lord of the Dance

While having a conversation with a new friend about our weekend plans, she wanted to know if I liked to dance.

I don’t even know where to begin with that answer.  Since a picture is worth a 1000 words I thought I’d let them do the talking.

Most people tend to dislike what they’re not good at. So it only seems “natural” that I would stay away from dancing as to not make a fool out of myself.

Nope, not me. I don't dance. Sorry.

So for sure I would never attempt something like the fist pump

Or throw my hands up to Miley Cyrus songs.

Party in the USA?

I definitely have never challenged anyone to a dance- off

See? He looks terrified.

And I definitely have never tried to draw attention to my moves 

Who me in the spotlight?

I definitely don’t try other types of dance.

Who swing dances these days anyway?

.. or Two- step

The only person I could find to dance with me anyway is this guy. 


I guess sometimes I have fun

Smiling is my favorite

If living alone has taught me ANYTHING ( besides how to get really crafty at reaching things on the top shelf) is that I love to dance.  I have a dance party for one every morning in my bath robe while getting ready for work. I dance at night while I’m cooking. I dance while brushing my teeth and I probably dance in my sleep, which would explain why I wake up and the sheets are tangled on the floor.

The thing with dancing is that I’m convinced EVERYONE likes to dance. The people who say they don’t are scared. Scared of looking foolish, of embarassing themselves, not knowing “how”. That, or they just don’t like to have fun.  But seriously- does anyone really know how to dance? I sure don’t! All you gotta do is MOVE. And anyway you can, along with music ( and not always to the beat). To tell you the truth: when I’m busting a move on the dance floor I don’t watch other people. I don’t care what they look like or what they’re doing, or how they’re dancing. I notice when people are smiling and having fun and to me those are the BEST dancers. Dancing is about letting loose and not caring what other people think. And that is the FUN part.

So I challenge you to bust out your hairbrush microphone, put on your fave song and dance in your underwear. I swear it will be the best 3 minutes of your day.  Just in case you need some inspiration, this song hasn’t failed me the last few weeks :

Dance party for 1 coming right up! 

One thought on “Lord of the Dance

Leave a Reply

