Ma, the meatloaf!

I have never made meatloaf in my entire life. In my head meatloaf is up there with Kraft Dinner as quintessential American cooking that propagates the SAD diet.

I’m a huge fan of meals that are hands off while cooking and last me a few days. So I tackled meatloaf- and it was way better than I imagined. I tried to pack as many veggies in there as I could to make it a complete meal in itself

20111117-210811.jpg

This picture does NOT do it justice!

.

Ingredients:
2 lb grassfed ground beef
2 eggs
1 cup almond meal
2 generous handfuls spinach
3 garlic cloves
1 6 oz can organic tomato paste
1 tsp crushed black pepper

Generous sprinklings (each) of:
Paprika
Thyme
Oregano
Parsley
If you have fresh basil, highly recommend it!

Directions:
Set oven at 375 degrees.
In large bowl whisk eggs and mix well with beef using your fingers. Add almond flour and knead together. Finely chop spinach & garlic in a food processor and add to bowl with tomato paste & all your spices. Roll up your sleeves because you’ll need to mix and knead with your hands.

Grease a glass baking dish with olive oil and shape meat mound into a loaf. Mine looked like a giant blob.

Then bake in oven for 55-60 min, or until inside is no longer pink.
Don’t overcook because it becomes dry!

I enjoyed mine slathered in hot sauce with a side of green beans and cubed sweet potatoes cooked in a pan with Olive oil & italian seasoning.

If you want to save portions for the week, I highly suggest adding a tiny drizzle of olive oil on top of the slice before putting it in Tupperware.

Also, I would imagine it’d taste better with an onion or two in there. Most dishes I cook probably taste much better with an onion so use your imagination!

 

Leave a Reply

